3.30.18 The Vinny Golia Sextet “Trajectory”



Vinny Golia bull roarer, zun, singing bowls, gongs & bells, bass drum, sopranino, Bb & G soprano, tenor & baritone saxophones, Eb flute, G, Eb & contra alto clarinets, fujara 
Gavin Templeton alto saxophone 
Daniel Rosenboom  Bb trumpet & flugelhorn 
Alexander Noice  electric guitar & pedals 
Miller Wrenn acoustic and electric bass 
Andrew Lessman drums & percussion 


1. T’semekwe (as real as any hoax can be)
2. OK Doctor Xavier I guess only women have …them (no not those we have them too…) – Take 1
3. Ugly Bags of Mostly Water (I knew some people like that once…)
4. Dr. Loomis Welcome Back To The Hospital
5. The Penabus (going to Leyte soon can you get me one)
6. Spaniard’s Dilemma which coffuire to choose – for John T… (no not him)
7. By The End Of The Day…
8. Ananaki (what they left…)
9. OK Doctor Xavier I guess only women have …them (no not those we have them too…) – Take 2
10. From The Piano Comes This… (All the colors of the rainbow – for Hugues)
11. Sparks or Dare..for Elizabeth or Eleanor (have you ever been to Roanoke)
12. Gift of the Nile
13. Just Like The Older Ones (A message from space…)
14. Modred’s Curse (Ares Vallis)
15. Night time messages (not exactly as planned but still ok…)
16. Well It’s a valuable appendage… Jack Burton has paid his dues the check is in the mail…

All compositions & arrangements by Vinny Golia 
© ninewinds BMI 2017 
Sound Engineered By John Baffa, Brotheryn Studio, Ojai California 
Mixed by John Baffa & Vinny Golia 
Mastered by John Baffa 
TV Tray Studios, Ventura, California 
Album Art + Design by Kio Griffith
Cover photography by Kio Griffith
Band photography Lena Golia & Aubre Hill 
This project is a joint collaboration between Ninewinds Records and Orenda Records 
NWCD0343 / ORENDA0050 

©Ninewinds Records and Orenda Records, 2018 



For over a decade, The Vinny Golia Sextet has dedicated itself to the compositions of Los Angeles creative music legend and multi-instrumentalist Vinny Golia. Juxtaposing composition with dynamic improvisation, Golia’s music engages the mind and the heart, and radiates an enigmatic spirit that has inspired generations of musicians. Trajectory presents an epic collection of music written and performed in every-evolving ways over the last 10+ years, and features an adventurous lineup that shines on Golia’s unique approach to modern jazz language. 

Golia’s reputation in the jazz world is sterling, but in Los Angeles he has also been a major driver of the creative music scene and mentor to several generations of musicians. Through his record label, Nine Winds Records, he has supported countless musicians’ visions at various points in their careers, and as a teacher he has influenced and guided developing artists in the pursuit their craft. The Vinny Golia Sextet features Vinny alongside 5 of his former students who have become prominent members of the Los Angeles jazz and creative music community. Saxophonist Gavin Templeton, trumpeter Daniel Rosenboom, guitarist Alexander Noice, bassist Miller Wrenn, and drummer Andrew Lessman have a deep understanding of Golia’s complex compositional style, and bring intense vitality and strong individual personality to the music, as Golia leads the way. 

With roots in the visual arts, Vinny Golia approaches music in a highly colorful way, using swaths of instrumental timbres and motivic melodic elements in a modular way. Golia is well-known as a woodwind specialist, but on Trajectory he also showcases an array of unusual percussion to expand the album’s sonic palette. The mysterious whirring of the bull roarer that opens “Ts’emekwe (as real as any hoax can be?)” sets the tone before launching into the segmented phrases and driving rhythm that characterize Golia’s writing. The rhythm section is powerful and pointed throughout the record, accenting the angular lines, and propelling the improvisations with dynamic jazz-rock fire. Groove underlies the intricate writing, but several of the tunes on Trajectory stretch in an ethereal, dream-like fashion, as in “Ugly Bags of Mostly Water (I knew some people like that once…),” allowing the band to drift into beautiful floating expression as well. There is no shortage of virtuosity from Golia on his various woodwinds, particularly the saxophones, as well as from the rest of the band. Each band member is featured in a variety of contexts and shines with a remarkable range of soloistic expression. 

With Trajectory, The Vinny Golia Sextet makes a bold artistic statement that is both an arrival and a point of departure. The Sextet is an ongoing project with a huge catalog of unrecorded compositions, and this milestone double album hardly contains the complete picture: it’s a stop along the way for the visionary composer and his ensemble, as they push forward into the future. 

Trajectory is a collaboration between Nine Winds Records and Orenda Records. 

3.23.18 Burning Ghosts “Kakistocracy”


Daniel Rosenboom  Trumpet
Jake Vossler  Guitars
Richard Giddens  Bass
Aaron McLendon Drums


2. Sanctimony
3. Dig Thy Grave
4. Espionage
5. Resonance (For the Victims of American Gun Lust)
6. Ideology
7. Kakistocracy


We live in a Kakistocracy. This is music made for the resistance. 


“Progressive anger can blast down some ugly walls, and Burning Ghosts’ new recording shows how to do it without saying a word (or firing a shot)… If you’re wishing for this decade’s most potent way of declaring “We’re not gonna take it,” look no further.” —MetalJazz.com

“Burning Ghosts [is] one of the best bands to emerge from L.A. in years.” —Downtown Music Gallery (NYC) 

“Burning Ghosts, an L.A.-based fiery quartet that aims at today’s world injustices by verging on electric fusion genius to impress… If you’re the adventurous type, Burning Ghosts will make you spin with the immense force of their underground volleys. I trust this band will have all the attention they deserve to keep protesting with this quality.” —JazzTrail 

“Boxes be damned, classifying this as jazz- rock or jazz-metal is a waste of energy. It is simply what it is, which is great music… Marvelous.” –Jazz In Europe

Recorded December 2017 at Orenda Sound (Los Angeles, CA)
Sound Engineered, Mixed, and Mastered by Daniel Rosenboom
All tracks except “Dig Thy Grave” composed by Daniel Rosenboom (ASCAP)
“Dig Thy Grave” composed by Jake Vossler (ASCAP)
Album Art + Design by Kio Griffith

© Burning Ghosts, 2018


3.20.18 Daren Burns “Interstellar Echoes”

Interstellar Echoes
with Craig Bunch

daren burns - interstellar echoes

Daren Burns compositions/6-string bass/echoplex digital pro/effects
Craig Bunch drum set

1. The Sun
2. Mercury
3. Venus
4. Earth
5. Mars
6. Jupiter
7. Saturn
8. Uranus
9. Neptune

“Interstellar Echoes” is a structured improvisation using the nine planets (sorry Pluto) as inspiration. Written by Daren Burns while on the road in 2010, it is a tribute to saxophonist John Coltrane and uses his landmark album “Interstellar Space”; which featured duets between his sax and the drums of Rashied Ali. This recording utilizes a six-string bass tuned: EADGBE and various effect pedals and the EDP looper and drumset. Keeping a similar instrumentation as Coltranes Interstellar album. Here it branches off into a variety of sounds and styles meant to evoke musical pictures of the various planets. Influenced by David Torn, John Coltrane, John Abercrombie, Pat Metheny, Robert Fripp , and various metal bands. “


Produced and mixed by Daren Burns

Recorded June 2015
Recorded and Engineered by Craig Bunch
Mastered by Wayne Peet @ Newzone Studio, Los Angeles, CA
Album Art + Design by Kio Griffith
Urban Nerds Records
Daren Burns
All Compositions by Daren Burns © 2018 Urban Nerds Publishing ASCAP  

© 2018 Urban Nerds Records, all rights reserved